Img : investors-clinic

The Tamil Nadu State Government appointed K Gnanadesikan as the chairperson of the Tamil Nadu Real Estate Regulatory Authority [TNRERA]. The Chairperson is appointed after one year of TNRERA’s formation.

K Gnanadesikan will take charge from S Krishnan, the secretary of the housing and urban development department. He was serving as the interim chairperson of Tamil Nadu Real Estate Regulation Authority.

S Manohar, the engineer-in-chief, buildings in the public works department and V Jeyakumar, an advocate is also appointed as the member of TNRERA. Apart from them, N Balasubramanian, the retired district judge is appointed as the judicial member of the regulatory body and Leena Nair, the retired IAS officer is appointed as the administrative member of TNRERA.

The Tamil Nadu Real Estate Regulatory Authority was formed on 22nd June 2017 with the aim to protect homebuyers’ interest.

Under the Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, 2016, it is mandatory for all State Governments to form a real estate regulatory authority within one year of the Act formation via notification.

The regulatory should have a full-time chairperson and two full-time members. However, the Tamil Nadu RERA didn’t have any establishment since its formation.

The State Government also didn’t follow the directives of Central Advisory Council that monitors the implementation of the RERA and ordered authorities to appoint a permanent regulator by June 30.

The newly appointed chairperson of TNRERA is due to retire in April this year.

The TNRERA Chairperson has the power to order and discharge administrative functions to address and resolve homebuyers’ grievances.

The members of the regulatory body can assume office only after the chairperson assumes his office.