Img : railanalysis

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the North-South metro corridor today via video conferencing and the same will become operational for the public from tomorrow. This is a 13.5-km long stretch on the North-South corridor and will link Sitabuldi area. This is also the interchanging station for the commuters to reach Khapri on the East-West corridor.

There are 20 metro stations on the North-South corridor including Automotive Square, Nari Road, Indora Square, Kadbi Chowk, Gaddi Godam Square, Kasturchand Park, Zero Mile, Sitabuldi, Congress Nagar, Rahate Colony, Ajni Square, Chhatrapati Square, Jaiprakash Naagr, Ujwal Nagar, Airport, Airport South, New Airport, Khapri, Eco Park, Metro City.

Similarly, there 20 metro stations on the East-West metro corridor also and they include Prajapati Nagar, Vaishnao Devi Chowk, Ambedkar Chowk, Telephone Exchange, Chitar Oil Chowk, Agrasen Chowk, Dosar Vaisya Chowk, Nagpur Railway Station, Cotton Market, Sitabuldi, Jhansi Rani Square, Institution of Engineers, Shankar Nagar Square, LAD Chowk, Dharampeth College, Subhash Nagar, Rachana Ring Road, Vasudev Nagar, Bansi Nagar, Lokmanya Nagar.

The Nagpur metro operations are divided into a phased manner and thus the metro will have a run of 40 kms within the range of above-mentioned two corridors.

Also, the State Government has sanctioned Phase 2 of Nagpur metro and has directed the authority to prepare a DPR [Detailer project report]. The second phase is expected to get completed in four years and a total cost of Rs.11,216 crore is expected to be inured for the same.

The second phase will have a route of 48.30-km and will have stations at MIHAN, Lokmanya Nagar, Hingna, Prajapati Nagar, Transport Nagar, Vasudev Nagar and Dattawadi.