Property Tax
Img : realtynxt

In the recently concluded tax collection, where the residents had the chance to avail a rebate of 5% the in property tax payment, the Bengaluru east zone left all other zones behind especially the tech corridor of Mahadevapura zone. However, the east zone that include areas such as the MG Road, Hebbal, Indiranagar, Banaswadi and Fraser Town recorded collection of Rs 150.4 crore in the first 29 days of the present financial year .

The Mahadevapura zone comprises of Whitefield locality and accumulated Rs. 117.8 crore. This zone stood third while lagging behind the south zone under which the areas like Jayanagar and Basavanagudi fall and a collection of Rs. 144 crore is recorded.

On 30th April, the last day to pay property tax, the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike [BBMP] made a collection of Rs. 873 crore. This amount is higher than the collection of the tax for the same year in the last fiscal 2018-19. In the last financial year Rs. 650 crore was the collected tax.

The west zone secured fourth position with Rs. 92 crore while Dasarahalli zone stood last with a total tax collection of Rs.22.8 crore.

M Venkatachalapathy, Joint commissioner (revenue) said that the municipal corporation is not planning to extend 5% rebate deadline. He also informed that the rebate extension was not followed in the last fiscal year 2018-19 and thus the same will not be applicable this year. In comparison to the last year, we have performed better he said.

BBMP leader Abdul Wajid said that the Mahadevapura zone should have continued to give its outstanding performance in property tax collection in the first month of the rebate period as the target of this zone is way higher than that of the any other zone as a huge number of IT companies are located in the Whitefield area.

He also said that the issue will be discussed with the civic body to generate better property tax.