Telangana RERA portal
Img : nkrealtors

The Ministry for Housing and Urban Affairs recently said that 28 States and Union Territories (UTs) have notified the Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, 2016. According to the UHA ministry, 20 states and UTs [Union Territories] have established real estate appellate tribunals under the legislation out of which seven are regular tribunals and 13 are interim real estate appellate tribunals.

Rajeev Jain, the spokesperson of the Housing and Urban Affairs ministry said, as of now, 28 states and UTs have notified RERA. As many as 22 states have fully-functional web portals under the legislation.

He further said that the RERA act offers legal protection to home-buyers and was passed by Parliament and states were given powers to notify their respective rules and appoint regulatory authorities.

The six northeastern states including Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim have not notified the RERA Act and its rules in order to sort the land and its related issues. The Union Housing and Urban Affairs ministry will send a special team to these states on October 26 to resolve issues pertaining to the implementation of RERA the real estate act.

Other than these states, West Bengal has notified its own real estate law — the Housing and Industrial Regulation Act, 2017 (HIRA) instead of notifying the RERA act. The ministry has asked the State Government to repeal it as there cannot be two legislations on the same subject.

The Real Estate Regulatory Act has worked for the home buyers in a positive manner as some states ensure falling of all commercial and residential properties under this Act while some are extending dates to get all the real estate agents and realtors registered under the RERA Act.