Delhi Metro Pink Line
Img : assettype

Delhi Metro’s Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section on the Pink Line got safety nod from the concerned officials and is likely to be opened for public soon, said Delhi Metro. SK Pathak, the Commissioner for Metro Rail Safety sanctioned approval to the Shiv Vihar – Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake Metro section of the Pink Line as the same line is scheduled for inspection.

Although the approval is subjected to the fulfillment of further stipulations and formalities. The official said that the exact date of the opening of the section will be announced after the fulfillment of these requirements.

This Pink Line metro stretch is 17.86 km elevated section including 15 elevated stations – Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake, East Vinod Nagar- Mayur Vihar-II , Mandawali- West Vinod Nagar, I.P. Extension, Anand Vihar ISBT, Karkardooma, Karkardooma Court, Krishna Nagar, East Azad Nagar, Welcome, Jaffrabad, Maujpur- Babarpur, Gokulpuri, Johri Enclave and Shiv Vihar.

The commuters can change metro line on three interchange stations – Anand Vihar (with Blue Line), Karkardooma (with Blue Line) and Welcome (with Red Line). After the opening of this section, the Delhi Metro network will become 314 (313.86) kilometres long.

The section that got safety nod is a 59-km long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor on the Pink Line. This stretch is a continuation of the currently operational Majlis Park – Lajpat Nagar section and is going to be a boost to the commuters travelling from Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway station and the Inter-State Bus Terminal at Sarai Kale Khan.