mumbai metro
Img : hindustantimes

Mumbai metro’s third line is a stretch between Colaba-Bandra-Santa Cruz-SEEPZ and will offer smooth connectivity.

The Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation limited [MMRCL] is responsible to carry out work on this stretch and this is also the longest metro line in the city. The route is 33.5 Km long and will also be the maiden underground metro line with 27 stations in Mumbai.

At present, twin tunnels of 5.2 metres in diameter each, are being dug at a depth of 20-25 metres below the ground level. To construct these tunnels, 17 tunnel boring machines are being used and a section of 1.2. Kms from the Bandra-Kurla Complex to Dharavi stations will pass from under the Mithi river and an extra stabling line is also being constructed for this metro line.

This metro line is now expected to be completed by 2021 as the original deadline of 2016 was missed due to multiple legal and environmental issues that springe up due to construction. However, the full-fledged work on the same route begun from May, 2017.

This took place as the authorities informed that further delay will escalate the project cost by nearly Rs. 4 crores per day. The Line 3 is planned to be implemented in a phased manner and the will connect the Aarey Milk Colony to Mumbai airport in the first phase.

This section of the route is expected to become operational by March and the leftover section till Cuffe Parade, is likely to open by December 2021.

The stations on Mumbai metro line 3 are Churchgate – Western Line, CSMT Metro – Central Line, Harbour line, Indian Railways, Grant Road – Western Line, Mumbai Central Metro – Western Line, Indian Railways, Mahalaxmi – Western Line, Monorail, Dadar – Western Line, Central Line, Indian Railways, BKC – Metro Line 2 (under construction), Domestic Airport – Line 7 (under construction), Sahar Road – Line 7 (under construction), International Airport – Line 7 (under construction), Marol Naka – Line 1 (operational) and SEEPZ – Line 6.